History

Bärenzwinger Historical view, Source: Stadtarchiv Berlin

Peter Zimmermann, Bundesarchiv 1973 [Photography]

1937

Until that day in autumn 2015, on which Schnute, the last female city-bear was euthanized, several generations of brown bears – Berlin's heraldic animals – had inhabited the Bärenzwinger [bear pit] for almost eighty years

The first pair of bears, Urs and Vreni, were given as gifts from the city of Bern to mark the occasion of Berlin's 700th anniversary in 1937. They arrived in August 1939, shortly before the outbreak of the Second World War, at the grounds originally built for the city's sanitation department in Köllnischer Park by Berlin architect Georg Lorenz, and later converted into the Bärenzwinger.

Bound to an almost eighty-year history of the city, the Bärenzwinger had two narrow escapes after being buried under rubble during the war. The surviving bears meanwhile took refuge at the Berlin zoo until the site was eventually freed from rubble thanks to citizen efforts, and the animals were able to return home. The preservation of the bear pit, located in  the former East of the city, became a matter for debate shortly after the fall of the Wall due to its poor structural condition, until private donation initiatives finally set its restoration in motion.

Around the turn of the millennium, the keeping of the bears on the site encountered increasing opposition once again, this time because of doubts concerning the welfare of the animals. Criticism from animal welfare groups finally led to the municipal decision to discontinue the site's usage as a bear pit after the death of Schnute.

Cultural Site

Curational Program

Tobias Willmann, 2017 [Photography]

2017

The cultural use of the Bärenzwinger as a location for exhibitions and events, lectures and discussions has been made possible through the transfer of the property to the Department for Further Education and Culture of Berlin-Mitte and the provision of support through interdisciplinary funding. Artists and scientists will be able to develop exhibition ideas on-site and progressively present them by way of carefully considered site-specific interventions and installations.

The cultural program of the former bear pit is organized by young curators of the Department of Arts and Culture, to whom the Bärenzwinger will be made available as a place of practice and learning during their traineeship.

After having stood empty for almost two years, the Department for Further Education and Culture has assumed responsibility for a cultural monument, which was home to Berlin’s heraldic animals for more than 80 years and thus has developed a high degree of popularity and sympathy among the citizens of Berlin.

Its immense effect on creating identity among Berliners is therefore of great value, both for the future urban planning around the area of ​​the northern “Luisenstadt” as well as for the nearby historical center of Berlin.

The aim is to develop the location as a public place of cultural learning and teaching as well as a knowledge base for urban culture. In addition, exhibitions, workshops and events will reference cultural urban design, the history of Berlin and contemporary art.

Curational Program

Bärenzwinger, present view 2017, Source: Kulturamt Mitte

Tobias Willmann, 2017 [Photography]

The curatorial Bärenzwinger program for the next two years was developed from an analysis of the history of the area, the animals which inhabit it, its occupants and its critics. It opens up manifold forms and formats and explores the potential of the grounds for historical, environmental, cultural, and artistic interventions.

The program focuses on the role of the bear pit and bears within the scope of the cultural and social identity of the city, the architecture of the site and its urban integration, as well as engaging in discourse surrounding matters of ecology and animal welfare pertaining to the bear pit.


The bear pit, now empty for almost two years, still contains numerous traces of its former utilization as a long-standing domicile of Berlin's symbolic bearers.

The two-year Bärenzwinger exhibition program thematizes three core areas: The first, entitled “Traces of the Animalic” (Spuren des Animalischen), addresses the perceptible absence / presence of the bears. The second key aspect “Architectures of Segregation” (Architekturen der Segregation), sweeps through both the internal and external grounds of the bear pit. The third curatorial program entitled “Projections of Indistinguishably” (Projektionen der Ununterscheidbarkeit), ultimately develops ideas for perspectives and future scenarios of the bear pit.

Contact

Bärenzwinger

Im Köllnischen Park

10179 Berlin


P + 49 [0] 30 901 837 461

info[at]baerenzwinger.berlin

Facebook

Instagram

Opening hours

Monday – Sunday
10am – 6pm

Admission free

Public Transport

U8 Heinrich-Heine Straße
U2 Märkisches Museum
U+S Jannowitzbrücke
Bus 165, 265, 248

Press

Find all our press kits here.

Historisches

Stadtarchiv [Quelle]

1937

Bis zu jenem Tag im Herbst 2015, an dem Schnute, die letzte weibliche Stadtbärin eingeschläfert wurde, beherberte der Bärenzwinger für fast achtzig Jahre mehrere Generationen von Braunbären, den Berliner Wappentieren.

Das erste Bärenpaar, Urs und Vreni, waren Geschenke der Stadt Bern anlässlich der 700-Jahrfeier Berlins im Jahr 1937. Sie kamen kurz vor Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkrieges im August 1939 in das ursprünglich für die Stadtreinigung erbaute Gebäude im Köllnischen Park, das vom Berliner Architekten Georg Lorenz zum Bärenzwinger um- und ausgebaut worden war.

Eingebunden in eine fast achtzigjährige bewegte Stadtgeschichte stand der Bärenzwinger zweimal vor dem Aus. So wurde er während des Krieges verschüttet. Die überlebenden Bären mussten zwischenzeitlich im Berliner Zoo unterkommen, bis das Areal dank des Einsatzes von Bürger*innen vom Schutt befreit wurde und die Tiere wieder einziehen konnten. Der Erhalt des im Ostteil der Stadt gelegenen Bärenzwingers stand kurz nach dem Mauerfall angesichts seines schlechten baulichen Zustandes erneut zur Debatte, bis private Spendeninitiativen seine Restaurierung in Gang brachten.

Seit etwa den Nullerjahren regte sich wiederum aufgrund von Zweifeln am Wohlergehen der Tiere zunehmend Widerstand gegen die Haltung von Bären in dem Areal. Die tierschutzrechtliche Kritik veranlasste schließlich den kommunalen Beschluss, dass nach dem Tod von Schnute keine weiteren Bären in den Zwinger einziehen würden.

Kulturstandort

Stadtarchiv [Quelle]

2017

Durch die Übertragung des Fachvermögens an das Amt für Weiterbildung und Kultur und die Bereitstellung von Fördermitteln durch spartenübergreifende Förderung ist es möglich, im Baudenkmal Bärenzwinger Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, Vorträge und Diskussionen durchzuführen. Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen werden vor Ort ihre Ausstellungsideen entwickeln und in schrittweisen und behutsamen ortsspezifischen Interventionen und Rauminstallationen präsentieren.

Organisiert wird das Kulturprogramm des Bärenzwingers von jungen Kurator*innen des Fachbereichs Kunst und Kultur Mitte, die für den Zeitraum ihres wissenschaftlichen Volontariats den Bärenzwinger als Ort der Praxis und des Lernens zur Verfügung gestellt bekommen.

Damit hat das Amt für Weiterbildung und Kultur nach fast 2-jährigem Leerstand die Verantwortung für ein Kulturdenkmal übernommen, das sich durch die Berliner Wappentiere über 80 Jahre zu einem stadträumlichen Anziehungspunkt mit hohem Bekanntheits- und Sympathiewert entwickelt hat.

Die immense identitätsstiftende Wirkung des Bärenzwingers bei Berliner Bürger*innen ist deshalb auch von beispielhaftem Wert, sowohl für die künftige Stadtgestaltung im Bereich der nördlichen Luisenstadt als auch jener nahegelegenen historischen Berliner Mitte, derer sich das Bezirksamt nun angenommen hat.

Ziel ist es, den Standort als öffentlichen, kulturellen Lern- und Lehrort sowie Wissensplattform für Stadtkultur zu entwickeln. Zusätzlich sollen durch Ausstellungen, Workshops und Veranstaltungen Bezüge zur kulturellen Stadtgestaltung, Berlingeschichte und Gegenwartskunst hergestellt und vermittelt werden.

Kuratorisches Programm

Stadtarchiv [Quelle]

Das kuratorische Programm des Bärenzwingers für die kommenden zwei Jahre wurde aus einer Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte des Areals und der dort lebenden Tiere, der Nutzer*innen und auch Kritiker*innen heraus entwickelt. Es öffnet sich vielfältigen Formen und Formaten und lotet das Potenzial des Ortes für historische, umweltpolitische, kulturelle und künstlerische Interventionen aus.

So geht es etwa auf die Rolle von Bärenzwinger und Bären im Rahmen der kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Identitätsstiftung der Stadt ein, auf die Architektur des Geländes und dessen urbanistische Einbindung und auf ökologische und tierschutzrechtliche Diskurse, die an den Bärenzwinger gekoppelt sind.
Der seit nunmehr fast zwei Jahren leerstehende Bärenzwinger birgt noch immer zahlreiche Spuren seiner Nutzungsvergangenheit als langjähriges Domizil der Berliner Symbolträger.

Das zweijährige Ausstellungsprogramm im Bärenzwinger gliedert sich in drei thematische Schwerpunkte. Der erste mit dem Titel Spuren des  Animalischen befasst sich mit der spürbaren Absenz / Präsenz der Bären. Der zweite Schwerpunkt fokussiert Architekturen der Segregation, die sowohl die Innen- als auch die Außenräume des Bärenzwingers durchziehen. Unter dem Titel Projektionen der Ununterscheidbarkeit entwickelt der dritte kuratorische Programmpunkt schließlich Ideen für Perspektiven und zukünftige Szenarien des Bärenzwingers.

Kontakt

Bärenzwinger

Im Köllnischen Park

10179 Berlin


T + 49 [0] 30 901 837 461

info[at]baerenzwinger.berlin

Impressum

Öffnungszeiten

Mo–So 12–19h

Eintritt frei

Verkehrsverbindungen

U8 Heinrich-Heine Straße
U2 Märkisches Museum
U+S Jannowitzbrücke,
Bus 165, 265, 248

Bezirksamt Mitte von Berlin
Amt für Weiterbildung und Kultur
Fachbereich Kunst und Kultur

Dr. Ute Müller-Tischler [Fachbereichsleitung]

Julia Heunemann, Nadia Pilchowski, Sebastian Häger [Künstlerische Leitung]

Evelyn Gregel [Kommunikation]

Marie-Christin Lender [Educationprogramm]


Viktor Schmidt [Gestaltung]

Viola Vogel [Website]

Presse

In unserem Presse-Bereich finden Sie Pressebilder und -texte zum Download.

Förderer + Sponsoren

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung
der Spartenübergreifenden Förderung und der bezirklichen Förderfonds der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Mit herzlichem Dank an
Amt für Stadtentwicklung, Bauaufsichtsbehörde, Förderband e.V., Jugend im Museum e.V., Stiftung Stadtmuseum und KoSP GmbH